Review: Who Wants Pie?

I am not an enthusiastic cook or baker. (When you’re cooking for 4 children, you’re bound to hear “do I have to eat that?” From one of them at least once a day. One’s enthusiasm for creating great food tends to diminish over time.) So I am only lukewarm on culinary mystery series. I enjoy the mystery but the recipes at the end don’t add anything for me. Then I found Pies and Prejudicethe first in the Charmed Pie Shoppe Mysteries by Ellery Adams.

I was charmed indeed. This is the first Ellery Adams book I’ve read and I fell in love with her writing style within the first few pages. The woman knows how to turn a phrase! Add in a cast of strong, capable women, an adorable dog, a hunky fireman and a mystery to be solved and you have a satisfying read. But Adams doesn’t stop there. She also gives us pie.

Who doesn’t love pie? No one that I know. Personally I prefer it over just about any other dessert. Adams describes the pie making process, compares her characters to different types of pie, and makes the reader’s mouth water with the descriptions of all the pies, both sweet and savory. It doesn’t take much to convince me that heroine Ella Mae produces pies with a touch of magic in them.

And then there are the recipes – banana pudding pie, shoo fly pie, and even chocolate bourbon pecan pie! Even I, the biggest fan of driving through and eating out, am considering trying at least one of these recipes. Magic, indeed!

I have started reading Killer Plot from Ellery Adam’s Books by the Bay series and I’m fast becoming a fan of heroine Olivia Limoges. The second Charmed Pie Shoppe book, Peach Pies and Alibis is definitely on my To Be Read list.

About cuppacozy

I'm a librarian and a writer who enjoys reading, writing and helping people find their perfect literary match.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

