Review: The Inquisitor’s Apprentice

Image

As a member of Amazon Vine, I received a free copy of The Inquisitor’s Apprentice, a middle grade fantasy/mystery, and posted this review in September of 2011:

The Inquisitor’s Apprentice is a fantasy set in an alternate New York in the early 20th century. Magic has been added to New York’s melting pot with each ethnic group bringing its own type to the mix. The main character is a “nice Jewish boy” Sacha Kessler, who discovers he can “see” magic. This discovery leads to an apprenticeship with famous inquisitor Maximilian Wolf. Another new apprentice, Lily Astral, daughter of one the richest families in the city, and Wolf’s secretary Philip Payton round out their team.

On Chris Moriarty’s website for the book she states that she created this book for her son because she couldn’t find a fantasy series with a Jewish hero for him to read. Isn’t that the best gift ever! I wish someone would write a book series for me!

I am neither Jewish nor a New Yorker but I really enjoyed the first book in this series. I loved Sacha and his determination to take care of his family at all costs. You can’t help but root for a character like that.

In fact I loved all the characters in The Inquisitor’s Apprentice. They are quirky, endearing or in some cases creepy. And Moriarty’s city of New York seems to be the most appealing character of all with its mix of ethnic groups, magic, and antiquated technology. I’m looking forward to the next installment in this series.

Well, the next installment, The Watcher in the Shadows, arrived at my house a couple of weeks ago, also courtesy of Amazon Vine, and I recently posted my review on Amazon. I will post that review here next week.

About cuppacozy

I'm a librarian and a writer who enjoys reading, writing and helping people find their perfect literary match.
This entry was posted in Review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

