image

As I stated in my last post, I’ve been reading MURDER SHE BARKED by Krista Davis (and enjoying it very much!) The story takes place in a little town called Wagtail, where heroine Holly spent the summers with her grandmother. She is greatly surprised when she visits for the first time in years to find that the entire town has become a pet friendly tourist destination.

This reminds me of Heather Blake’s Enchanted Village in the Wishcraft Mystery Series or of Hitching Post, Alabama, wedding capital of the south from A POTION TO DIE FOR, also by Heather Blake. Christian fiction boasts a series about Smitten, Vermont, a town that is in the process of converting itself into a destination for romantic getaways. (Forgive me but I can’t think of the names of the four authors who work together on that series right now but the first two books are titled SMITTEN and SECRETLY SMITTEN.)

So now I’m wondering, does this really happen? Do small towns actually manage to agree on a theme and get grants and turn themselves into “tourist destinations?”  Sad to say, but I am not vacation savvy. For me vacations typically involve visiting family to celebrate occasion such as a wedding or graduation. (Hey, I guess that is sort of a theme.) But I’ve always dreamed of an extravagant, indulgent value action that does not include my relatives, no matter how beloved they may be.  (And I must say I am blessed with a wonderful family. Even my in-laws are great.)

But back to the topic at hand. Do towns like Wagtail and Hitching Post really exist? And if so has anyone visited one? Leave a comment and let me know please.

About cuppacozy

I'm a librarian and a writer who enjoys reading, writing and helping people find their perfect literary match.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

