Hallmark Mysteries and Movies

hallmark

Last year I discovered the Hallmark Channel and their occasional mystery movies. Then recently we got the Hallmark Movies and Mysteries channel and I have been happily watching mystery movies since.

I will take a break from watching now to report on this. Hallmark movies tend to be family-friendly with minimal sex, violence and cursing. (You can count that as pro or con as you wish, lol.)  In general, Hallmark movies are good but not great. So, if they fit your personal style, you will probably enjoy them. If they are not your thing you may be less tolerant of any flaws.

Hallmark audiences, I’m guessing, are middle-aged and older. The channel features reruns of Murder She Wrote, Matlock, Columbo, and Diagnosis Murder. The stars of Hallmark movies are often experienced TV stars such as Lori Loughlin and Candace Cameron Bure. Not many of the movies have leading characters that appear to be under 30. I won’t say how old I am, but let’s just say I’m in their demographic.

For me, the real attraction of the Hallmark Movie and Mystery channel is that they are the only company that makes cozy mystery movies. Now, this is my cup of tea, so I’m ecstatic. Starting last year they began working on several movie series, beginning with the Garage Sale Mystery starring Lori Loughlin. Sequels include All that Glitters and The Deadly Room.

Then came Aurora Teagarden: A Bone to Pick, from the series by Charlaine Harris. Earlier this month the Hannah Swenson series came to life as Murder She Baked in the premier movie The Chocolate Chip Murder. On May 16th The Gourmet Detective debuts.

There are several other mysteries that, to the best of my knowledge, are stand-alones. Those include The Wedding Planner Mystery, Along Came a Nanny and Mary Higgens Clark’s My Gal Sunday.

I have more to say on Hallmark Mystery Movies, but that’s enough for now. I’ll end by saying that we did not have a package that included Hallmark Movies and Mysteries but we were able to add it for $5/month  by contacting our satellite provider and requesting the channel. This is good because it would have cost far more than that to move up the package that included this channel!

About cuppacozy

I'm a librarian and a writer who enjoys reading, writing and helping people find their perfect literary match.
This entry was posted in cozy mystery, Hallmark Channel, Hallmark Movies and Mysteries, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hallmark Mysteries and Movies

  1. Mary Crook says:

    Thank you for letting me reply I love every movie that you have hope it will continue except the music during most of the movie, it is very loud while they are talking most of the time you cannot hear them talking hope this can be corrected I would hope it is your intent that we enjoy the WHOLE movie so keep the music down some so we can hear what the people are saying. Keep the good work up Yours Mary Crook

Leave a Reply

